gramreqop.blogg.se

Japandroids / Near to the Wild Heart of Life
Japandroids / Near to the Wild Heart of Life






Japandroids / Near to the Wild Heart of Life

Maybe not always with each other, maybe not with a tight group friends, and maybe not even with our significant others. Much of Post-Nothing is first person pronoun-centered but utilized in the "royal we" fashion-as in Japandroids are our sovereign nation, "we" are their patriots and together "we" are seizing the day. It's the closest indicator we have from the band on self-reliance. I know. There are plenty of songs where the pronoun "I" gets tossed around pretty liberally. "And if they try to slow you down/ tell them all to go to hell"īut there is nary a set of lyrics where the singers and the songs suggest that perhaps solitude and some good old-fashioned alone time are really what we crave. "Remember that night/ you were already in bed?/ said, 'fuck it'/ got up to drink with me instead?"

Japandroids / Near to the Wild Heart of Life

"Don't we have anything to live for?/ Well, of course we do/ but until it comes true/ we're drinking" "It's raining/ in Vancouver/ but I don't give a fuck/ 'cause I'm in love with you tonight" "I don't want to worry about dying/ I just want to worry about those sunshine girls." I offer a small lyrical sample for support: Because the band's appeal and their runaway success, is built on one long consensus of song that distills dow to, "Carpe diem, motherfuckers. I don't believe that because Japandroids don't believe that. We (myself included) sometimes bristle at the notion that we're uncomfortable being alone, or even that we wouldn't welcome the chance to stand on our own, to live and die by our own self-imposed exile.īut to quote Ian Mackaye, "Yeah, bullshit." It's a word that rattles our cages and sends us down a terrible, yet completely plausible, path of what ifs. Pay attention to that last word, please: alone.








Japandroids / Near to the Wild Heart of Life